Lab_14??

Here at Lab_13 Irchester we run an afterschool Inventors Club. At the minute it is just for Year 4 students and has been running for 4 weeks.

This week I was amazed when Tommy one of our Inventors told me about Lab_14! “I wanted a place at home that I could make inventions and experiments. So, my friend Irina and I started to convert an old playhouse at the end of my garden”

Being in Year 4, Tommy and Irina were too young to be on our committee but that hasn’t stopped their Lab_13 spirit, “We both like science in class and love coming to Lab_13 so we thought the perfect name was Lab_14”!

“Irina designed the inside where the table and workbench should go and I fixed up the windows and made it tidy. My sister has already built a rain-water filtering system with pop bottles, stones and bark. I want to design a working model boat!”

Tommy maintains that Lab_14 is still a work in progress and even has a sign up in the window saying “Help Wanted”. He says he will reward his helpers by having a science club in there and allowing them come to invent things.

I am so impressed with Tommy and Irina! They are only 9 and have created their own learning space! I really think that this is what Lab_13 is all about – inspiring young children to create and learn about science through actually doing it!

– Jennifer, Scientist in Residence, Lab_13 Irchester

About lab13network

Lab_13 is a space in a school managed by pupils for pupils to conduct their own research and experiments driven by their curiosity, imagination and enthusiasm, and under the watchful supervision of a Scientist in Residence (not a teacher!!).
This entry was posted in Lab13 and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

