Careers in STEM

At Lab_13 Irchester, we wanted to see where  studying science, technology, engineering and maths could take us. So, we have started a very interesting collection of interviews from people who work in STEM or who use STEM skills as part of their job.

George interviewed Dr. Sam Decombel from PlayDNA.

When did you first start thinking about a career in science?Dr Sam DNA Portrait

I don’t think I really started to think about a career in science until I had to choose my A-level options (I went for Biology, Chemistry and Physics). To be completely honest, I don’t think I was even considering a career of any sort at this time either! Instead I chose to take these subjects because I had always enjoyed them, found the natural world fascinating and was quite good at biology (not so much at physics it has to be said, but I still enjoyed the lessons!). I have always said that if you keep doing the things you enjoy, you’ll find you end up doing a job that you love – very important given you may be doing it for 50+ years!

Read more here

About lab13network

Lab_13 is a space in a school managed by pupils for pupils to conduct their own research and experiments driven by their curiosity, imagination and enthusiasm, and under the watchful supervision of a Scientist in Residence (not a teacher!!).
This entry was posted in Lab13 and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

