New Lab_13 Committee in Irchester!

In Irchester, our Lab_13 committee is the most important thing about us. The committee are responsible for every decision to do with our lab and everything that goes on in there. We do the blog, resources, ordering, hiring and firing, fundraising, networking, advertising, publicity and so much more! This term, we have have 4 new members who want to say hello. We were very sad to see Ebony, Scarlett and Jack go but we are very excited to work with these new Year 5s!

?????????? Hi, I’m Roxy! I am in Year 5 and I am 9 years old. I have always wanted to be on the lab_13 committee ever since it started in 2011. In 2013, that is now, I have finally made it onto the committee. I go to Lab_13 afterschool science club and code-club, and after that I wanted to be on the committee. I keep quail and parakeets at home so I’m looking forward to being the bird-expert when the chicks hatch! Also, I love science, but only when it’s in the lab. This is because when it is in the lab, it is fun and messy. I want to promote fun science!

?????????? Hi! I’m Jake and I am so glad I got on to the Lab_13 committee again. Usually you are not allowed to apply a second time but because I was a replacement I could. I have lots of experience now in doing things like fundraising and advertising and of course I ran the Lab_13 Lectures and Walking with Scientists events which were both a big success. My plans for this term are to make Lab_13 more popular and get more people from other schools to come in and enjoy science!! I’m also really looking forward to hatching the rare breed chicken eggs and celebrating Lab_13’s 2nd Birthday in May.

?????????? My name is Ellen and I am now FINALLY part of LAB_13! This started in 2011 when I was in yr3. That year I also really disappointed that I was too young to apply anyway. This is a massive achievement for me because many children have been disappointed from not getting onto the commmittee. From what I know, they go on LOTS of fun and educational trips. On another hand I once joined an afterschool club and even when I had finished the activity there was ALWAYS something else fun to do around the Lab.
During class lessens in science you look around and almost see people dropping off to sleep but in Lab_13 their eyes shoot open to see amazing things!
Fundraising is an important part of LAB_13 for if we didn’t do it, we might have lost/lose the lab. I hope that I will enjoy fundraising, the trips and just working in LAB_13.
I can’t wait until I start to get used to the lab even though on the first meeting I enjoyed being in the lab with Miss Hogan and the other committee!!!

?????????? Hi, I am Kieran and I am 10 years old. I have been excited about Lab_13 since it was opened. I wanted to be on the committee because I’ve always like science. But when I wanted to be in the committee I was too young. I am inspired by Blast Lab and other sciencey shows on tv. I would love that job! I am so glad that I am in the committee. I will try to make the lab a better place for everyone and make sure we all do more fun science. I am responsible and have good ideas for fundraising so I think I will be a good committee member!

About lab13network

Lab_13 is a space in a school managed by pupils for pupils to conduct their own research and experiments driven by their curiosity, imagination and enthusiasm, and under the watchful supervision of a Scientist in Residence (not a teacher!!).
This entry was posted in Lab13 and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

