George and CodeClub

I just found this draft from George that he had meant to post ages ago so here it is now if only a few months late! We are just starting Level 3 of Term 1 now and the children are flying past the adults when programming a new game or task!

2013-02-27 15.58.27“Hello my name is George and I am a Year 4 Code Club member. We started Code Club in Lab_13 yesterday. Our volunteer is called Robin; he studied computer science in university and when he lived in Spain put computer systems into all the hotels.

I finished the first project quickly because I find Scratch easy once you know where all the controls are. After that, I made a little animation with a sprite bouncy ball and 2 sprite Felix cats. I programmed the ball to bounce off one Felix to the other Felix. It was a bit difficult because I had to write three different scripts to code the behaviour of each sprite.

I want to work as a computer programmer when I’m older and I would like to make games for all ages. Maybe not for OAPs though because what if I make a new better version of Slender? That would scare them!”

About lab13network

Lab_13 is a space in a school managed by pupils for pupils to conduct their own research and experiments driven by their curiosity, imagination and enthusiasm, and under the watchful supervision of a Scientist in Residence (not a teacher!!).
This entry was posted in Irchester, Lab13 and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

