Hello from Carole, Gillespie’s Scientist/Inventor in Residence

Hello! I am delighted to introduce myself as Gillespie Primary School’s first ever Scientist/Inventor in Residence. I will be working at Gillespie, based in Lab_13 on the first floor, every Monday and Tuesday, as well as Wednesday mornings.

A little bit about me:

  • I love most things, but especially things that involve thinking for yourself. My favourite subjects at school were Science (especially Physics), Maths, History, English, Art and Music.
  • I speak French and Swedish as well as English.
  • I love writing and singing songs about Science, Maths and other things.
  • Before I become Scientist/Inventor in Residence, I used to work as a Physics teacher and Head of Physics in secondary schools in North and East London.
  • My other job (Thursdays and Fridays) is to train secondary Science Teachers.
  • I love learning new skills – at the moment I am learning how to etch (a type of print-making, you can see some of my prints here http://www.behance.net/gallery/Prints/6918841).
  • As you may have guessed by now, I love working with people of all ages – from children in nursery to grown-ups.

Enough about me! A fortnight into the role, I have met all of the fantastic children, teachers, teaching assistants, support staff and some of the parents who make up this very welcoming community.

So far my highlights have been:

  • Singing a song about volcanoes (to the tune of Halo) in assembly, and everyone joining in! (lyrics adapted to fit the tune from: http://www.songsforteaching.com/earthsciencegeology/volcanoes.htm)
  • Reading so many brilliant questions asked by children, all the way from Y1 to Y6.
  • Helping Y3 to make up a song about the rainforest – I can’t wait to hear it performed in our sharing assembly next week!
  • Meeting with all of the teachers and planning exciting STEM activities for this term.

Carole's first weekI also very much enjoyed my visit to Irchester Primary School with Shelley, Gillespie’s Science Lead Teacher, to meet their Scientist in Residence Jennifer and the children who make up their Lab_13 Committee. They very kindly gave up their time to share their experience of setting up and running Lab_13, and gave us some “top tips” to help us out as we get started!

I will leave you with some great questions to ponder, all asked by children at Gillespie:

How do you make a light bulb? (Y1)

How do you make a crystal? (Y3 and Y6)

Why do bubbles in coke and fizzy drinks go up and not down? (Y3)

What would happen if you ate toothpaste? (Y6)

How was the magnetic field around the world made? (Y3)

I look forward to bringing the children who asked these and other questions into Lab_13 to investigate them and share their findings!

Carole

About lab13network

Lab_13 is a space in a school managed by pupils for pupils to conduct their own research and experiments driven by their curiosity, imagination and enthusiasm, and under the watchful supervision of a Scientist in Residence (not a teacher!!).
This entry was posted in Lab13. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Hello from Carole, Gillespie’s Scientist/Inventor in Residence

  1. Rick says:

    Carole, fantastic to welcome you to Lab_13 and the network of all that’s good in curiosity led investigations.. looking forward to hearing from you directly
    I know you’ve been in touch with Jen – do let me know if there are any ways we can also support you and your Lab_13 team..
    all the best
    Rick

Leave a Reply

