Leavers Blogs from the Lab_13 Irchester Committee

Its the beginning of the school year and that means 4 new members of the Lab_13 Irchester Management Committee. But, before we welcome them, here is the goodbyes from the four members who left us this summer term to go to secondary school. Thank you to all the Year6 students who have given their everything to Lab_13 during their time in Irchester!

20140114_154952Sean’s Leavers Blog

Lab_13 was one of the greatest and most memorable experiences in this school. Honestly, I’m not sure where I would be without the lab- I wouldn’t be so enthusiastic and confident, I would have been so excited to come to school, and the list goes on. Mrs Tyrrell and Miss Hogan, our two science teachers, put tons of effort into making our science lessons fun and practical… their work paid off perfectly- our school wouldn’t be such a fun place without them!

 I was extremely sad to hear that my days of the Lab_13 committee were ending and, although I would like a change, I wish I could stay for years onward. If your school has a Lab_13 committee, try your best to get onto the committee if you want many great experiences. If your school hasn’t got a lab of any kind, you’re missing out!

20140114_155033Rosie’s Leavers blog

The time has come for the year 6 committee to hand our jobs into the -hopefully- capable hands of the year 4’s. I am devastated that my time on the committee has gone by so fast, but I have had a great time meeting new people and new friends and I am grateful for that. Being on the lab has been a great experience for all of the year 6s and I will miss everyone when I leave for secondary school. I hope that the year 5s on the committee now will share their experience with the year 4s as we did them. I have always been perfect but now I am extremely perfect- jokes! My confidence has grown immensely on my time on the committee; I have stood up and performed my part in the lectures. I have been passionate about getting more girls interested in science and ran numerous Girls in STEM workshops. I will miss everyone but I believe that I have done my part in the lab and that is what I think that matters. 

20140114_155436Ellie’s Leavers’ blog

Now it’s time for the yr6 committee to go we have done our work but it’s time to hand our job over to some new recruits. Lab_13_ has built my confidence as we have had to speak to lots of young and older people, the lab is a fun and exciting place to be but is a lovely working space for all of the school to come and ask questions and also to learn in.

We have also done Girls into STEM I loved inspiring younger children especially girls to get more invoked into science. My time in the lab has been fab and I can’t wait to take my skills up to Wollaston. Maybe I will start a Lab_13Wollaston there!

 

20140114_155145Nicholas’ Leavers Blog

My amazing experience.

I enjoyed Lab__13 because it gave me the responsibility to feel happy and brave. I could talk in front of over 400 children and not feel an ounce of fear. I would recommend it to anyone for the fact that it changes you and makes a courageous, smart, happy responsible child. It has rules, as everything does: it is a STRICT management committee only. If you want responsibility Lab__13 is your committee. A favourite to me is the trips our trip was the Lab__13 lectures, this was fun because talking slow, rhythmic, and emotional made me feel strong and brave. We talked about the science of smiles but I remember little of that so I am not going to touch on it. The greatest description of Lab__13 is that it is like a bonsai tree it demands constant attention and love, you should never miss trimming or it dies, never over water it, or underwater it. Never forget to go to see it on Monday lunch or Tuesday afterschool or run the risk of it dying and letting someone else take the job.

About lab13network

Lab_13 is a space in a school managed by pupils for pupils to conduct their own research and experiments driven by their curiosity, imagination and enthusiasm, and under the watchful supervision of a Scientist in Residence (not a teacher!!).
This entry was posted in Irchester and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Leavers Blogs from the Lab_13 Irchester Committee

  1. Rick says:

    Sean, Rosie, Ellie and Nicholas – I just wanted to send you a huge thank you for being such a great team on the Management Committee.. you are truly inspirational, and the great thing about being on the Committee is that you show others how to do it.. you become the best role model – and you have been brilliant. I am so pleased to see that working for Lab_13 has made a difference to you, especially your interest in Science and your confidence. Keep that curious mind going and you will always do well.. sending you best wishes and thanks again

Leave a Reply

