New term….New team at Irchester

It’s a new term and time to welcome some new recruits to our wonderful Lab_13 Irchester management committee. It’s a tough job but these guys will responsible for the day-to-day running of the lab, fundraising, media and communications, liaising with the school office and staff, organizing resources and so much more…..so please give a warm welcome to our new Year 5 committee members!

IMG_20140909_161409Hi my name is Emily ,I love the M in STEM. I’ve been inspired by my mum working, doing maths, as an accountant. But I also love science – when I was 3 my dad died of cancer and it urged me to learn more about science, learning about old and new medicines. I would like to be a research scientists or doctor to find a cure to cancer or a medicine without making them feel sick or ill. My life has been and will always will be about science. I have been waiting to join the committee for sooo long and have I finally got through to year 5 and the committee! I’M SO EXITED!

 

IMG_20140909_161233Hi I’m Luca. My first time in Lab_13 was in Year 2 when I was chosen for a special Little Sherlock day for good scientists from lots of different schools to work in the lab.  Finally, I’m in Year 5 and have made it.  I have two favourite hobbies; science and sport. I would really like to learn about the science behind the best shots in football – because at the weekend I scored from the halfway line even though from where I was it looked like it wasn’t going to go in! My gran is a science teacher and she has always done science experiments with me at home. Once we made oxygen and tested it with a glowing splint!

 

IMG_20140909_160201I was curious at first then I plucked up the courage to apply be on the Lab_13 committee. . I used to be the Curiosity Cupboard Curator which means I was in charge of making sure everything was always in the right place and in good condition. I am very interested in animal science (zoology) because I live on a farm and care for animals every day. I find lots of discoveries like – I found a bones of a sheep skeleton and I see grass snakes swimming. I’m looking forward to helping others enjoy the science in the outside world!

 

IMG_20140909_161333Hi my name is Beth and I am the S in STEM. Lab_13 came to our school when were only in Year2 and, ever since, I wanted to be part of the Lab 13 committee. I want to do more work on inspiring girls into science and to learn to love it just like we do. My brother inspires me into science because he shows some science experiments that I thought was interesting. My mum inspires me as well because she is a nurse and she shows me stuff to do with science and how she can use science at work to make people feel better. Finally I had the chance to apply and after shortlisting and interviews it just came true!

 

 

 

 

 

About lab13network

Lab_13 is a space in a school managed by pupils for pupils to conduct their own research and experiments driven by their curiosity, imagination and enthusiasm, and under the watchful supervision of a Scientist in Residence (not a teacher!!).
This entry was posted in Lab13 and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to New term….New team at Irchester

  1. Rachel Dunford says:

    What a fabulous new team! And Luca: my husband makes tv documentaries and did a really interesting programme about Ronaldo, looking at the science behind his amazing footballing talent. You should check it out if you’re interested in that sort of thing! It was called “Ronaldo: tested to the limit”. I think you should find it online still! Good luck to all of the new committee for the adventures that lie ahead!

  2. lab13network says:

    well done team – great to hear your commitment and excitement in inspiring others.. I’m looking forward to meeting you, and hearing your plans for Lab_13 in the year ahead
    good luck and have fun

  3. What an inspiring management team you are – and will be. I look forward to coming to see you soonest. Enjoy your time in charge!
    Cathy
    (I chair the Ignite board of directors)

Leave a Reply

