Dr. Natasha Smith – ScienceGrrl Geoscientist Interview

Madison, one of our ex-Lab_13 committee members has become very interested in geology this year and was especially excited about the subject of volcanology and geosciences after a brilliant visit from our guest scientist in residence Dr. David Bailey @geooutreach. Madison wanted to speak to a real geoscientist about their work and how to forge a career in the area and got interview Dr. Natasha Smith, a ScienceGrrl from Oxford!

 Hi! I’m Madison and I’m a year six pupil. I’m 10 years old and I’ve been interested in geology for a while and I am inspired by UK geoscience. Would you mind if I interviewed you on this?

 IMG_3621

Dear Madison,

Thank you for your questions, scientists like it when school children take an interest in what we do! I will try to answer them as best as I can.

  1. Have you been interested in volcanology/geoscience all your life?

unnamed (2)Yes, I think so! I grew up in Cornwall, a place that has some really beautiful landscapes and very cool rocks. I used to play on the beaches with my big brother, and I wanted to know how the cliffs and caves were formed, why some of the rocks were folded into shapes, and why the tin mines were there. Behind my house, there was a castle on a hill built into the rocks- we loved playing up there!

The rest of the interview is here

About lab13network

Lab_13 is a space in a school managed by pupils for pupils to conduct their own research and experiments driven by their curiosity, imagination and enthusiasm, and under the watchful supervision of a Scientist in Residence (not a teacher!!).
This entry was posted in Lab13 and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

