New committee members at Irchester

Hi I’m Millie Backshall and I applied for lab 13 and I was extremely lucky to get in. I think I am the S in STEM because I am very good in science. I got in because I am very reliable and am able to get set high standards in work. In the interviews some of the questions were easy and some were difficult but I managed to get through and I am very proud of myself. I am a good team worker and I am also good at working independently. I am looking forward to seeing Miss Draper and establishing my jobs.

              DSCN0509        DSCN0507

Hey I’m Samuel Martin and last week I got interviewed for Lab 13. The questions were extremely difficult on the form and in the interviews but I managed to answer them even though I was very nervous. I can’t wait to be in the committee with three of my good friends Toby Poynton, Jacob Lewis, Millie Backshall and 4 other year sixes. One of the things I’m most excited about is watching the snails and stick insects and learning things about their habitats and what they eat live in and everything else about them. In lab 13 we learn new facts and one fact I know is that we have fun and with are new science teacher Miss Draper things will be even more fun I’m sure. One more reason I joined lab 13 is because with our brilliant teacher (Mr Wilson) I absolutely love science and Mr Wilson does a great job at teaching us it so this is an opportunity to be a science genius by learning more science.

          DSCN0510              DSCN0517

Hi I’m Toby Poynton, I’m a new member of lab 13. I got interviewed for lab 13 – the questions were hard and I went in quite nervous. At least I gave an answer to each question and took my time to answer the application form. As soon as I entered the lab I had to focus on the questions and give it a go, whether I got in or not I had tried my best. Well if I didn’t enter I wouldn’t have had this opportunity but I took it. I’m looking forward to doing more science shows, telling everyone about science and meeting Miss Draper. I just want learn more about science and enjoy it and especially have fun! It was the first time I got interviewed and I got picked. I even got gold award for science because I was asking lots of questions and found out how much water the heart can hold – it was 47ml and I was pretty pleased with that.

(Jacob’s blog contribution has gone walkabouts but will be edited into this post as soon as it decides to come back!)

About lab13network

Lab_13 is a space in a school managed by pupils for pupils to conduct their own research and experiments driven by their curiosity, imagination and enthusiasm, and under the watchful supervision of a Scientist in Residence (not a teacher!!).
This entry was posted in Irchester, Lab13. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to New committee members at Irchester

  1. lab13network says:

    hello team! great to meet you all through the blog, and Jacob, I look forward to reading all about you when your blog returns..
    well, it sounds as if you all had quite a tough interview to pass to get onto the Lab_13 Committee, so congratulations and well done all of you.
    And good luck with all your responsibilities in the year ahead. And thank you for all your enthusiasm and dedication to the idea of making STEM more fun and exciting.
    sending best wishes – and I look forward to meeting you

    Rick

Leave a Reply

